charlene smith | a conversation…

10 Mar

charlene_smith.jpg

Introducing Charlene Smith…

Staffeen Thompson: What made you leave the music scene?
Charlene Smith: I quietly exited the music scene to allow myself to grow in all the ways I truly needed to. As it was all happening to me, I realized you have to have a pretty big ego to want to achieve the greatness that can come with being an artist. I was more of a people person then, easily side-tracked and more inquisitive of the inner workings of the business. You need a certain amount of detachment for this but at the same time be totally focussed and driven regarding your craft. It was hard to find the balance then. Judging by the way I feel now, it’s very difficult to imagine all that stuff happened to me. I’m so different now, comical in fact about it all. After all is said and done though, I still love music. I’ve always loved creating it. Truly loved being part of that process. That hasn’t diminished which is how I know now I’ve got to continue – no matter where it leads – because it is not a mission anymore. It is to enjoy the journey and learn a little bit more about myself and I’m ready this time for just about anything. To be truthful, and a tad metaphysical, music is still calling me and I feel as though to not answer would be the wrong thing. So we’ll see. We shall definitely see.

ST: What projects have you been working on in the past while?
CS: Musically, I’ve been focusing on penning some real uplifting anthems. I’ve never been a trend-setter but I know what I like to hear and it’s strangely missing from today’s airways. I’m laying low, so to speak, and trying not to be too influenced by what others are doing at this stage. I took some much needed time to regroup but my dance card is starting to fill up again. Maybe I should keep the individuals under wraps for now but know this – it’ll be worthwhile when it all comes together.

ST: Have you made songs that hasn’t been recorded or published?
CS: I’ve got a tonne of music that hasn’t been put out there yet and is still unpublished. You always have those songs that just seem better off being kept private but then the day comes that you feel ready to release it both figuratively and artistically. I’m ready to let go of some of that precious material. I’m now hoping it will heal others like it healed me.

ST: Can you describe your new sound?
CS: I always been a huge fan of Earth, Wind & Fire. I love the big, bright yet groovy stuff they did way back in the day. My stuff? Well, it’s like a cross between that and Maxwell with the ultimate female touch and delivery.

ST: Who are you working with on this record?
CS: I’m working my brothers of course, the Boomtang Boys and also a guy I’ve known forever named Marvin Prince. He was one of the key collaborators behind Snow’s first record and he’s a genius. I like to work with friends. I think the most honest material comes out of those exchanges.

ST: In future, who would you like to collaborate with?
CS: I’d love to work with Maxwell, Erykah Badu and my girl Michie One out of England to name a few. I’ve got a lot of friends in the biz. Some have achieved substantial credibility while most have not. I’d like to work with the “have nots” if you will. They also always come with a fresh energy and hunger that I find exhilarating as well as inspiring.

ST: How will this album be promoted?
CS: This record is going to have full backing with all the bells and whistles. That’s not necessary the best thing but then again, there’s no magic formula in this biz. You go with what is working and sort of hope for the best.

ST: After your journey, how do you maintain balance in the industry?
CS: Balance comes so easy now because the industry doesn’t have a hold on me. I no longer n-e-e-d to do this – I want to. And now it’s like the proverbial break up scenario in relationships. There can only be bitterness if you still wish to be with that person. If your over your past and whatever may have happened to you, you truly look at the experience as a whole as merely beneficial on move on to a better scenario. Balance comes out of that realization and really becomes effortless at that point. You get to contribute what you can when you can and if it still feels good – you found your balance.

ST: What’s your favourite song?
CS: One song that jumps out is Gap Band’s “Yearning for your love”. I adore Charlie Wilson. It’s everything a great song should be – dynamic, heartfelt, easy to identify with and uplifting all at once.

ST: What’s in your iPod now?
CS: I listen to a lot of old groups. I’m playing some Rick James and The Spinners right now if you can believe that!

ST: Will you be planning a tour, and will you make a stop in T.O?
CS: Touring is fantastic but incredibly grueling. I’m still 100% up for it so if one comes together – you can bet Canada will be first on the docket.

ST: What are you looking forward to the most?
CS: I’m most looking forward to the reactions to the new material. You put music out to the masses for that – the reaction. With me, good or bad makes me feel like I’ve achieved something – so it’s really all good. But truly, I look forward most to being right about which songs will “connect” the best with the fans.

ST: Thank you for speaking with me…
CS: Thank you!

Visit Charlene’s Myspace:
www.myspace.com/charlenesmith77


Leave a comment